Pirates!

For a fun little pirate themed challenge in a German forum I painted some Goblin pirates! I have a whole army of green-skinned freebooters in theory, but I painted very little of it. Well at least here’s at least a full regiment:

When going on land there’s better things to do than to listen to your captain. That guy really thinks his crew wants to hear a speech and sought out a nice little rock. All the while his mates go off – they have a date sorted out with a sailors best friend: rum.

Here’s a few better pictures with some info on the wild mix of miniatures I used here:

First off: the French guys. On the left ist Lux Thantor’s (review) pirate Goblin and his pet Paolo. On the right is Quirion, a miniature by Hasslefree. The mini is sculpted and named after Silvain Quirion of Aenor miniatures who nowadays sells some nice Greenskins with a very unique look. Also I like his pets. Maybe it’s not just French sculptors but pets connecting those two pictures.

Here’s the main bulk of this unit – 9 Goblins from their last Kickstarter from Titan Forge (review). Did you know I have 3 companies including Titan in their name on my company list? Crazy, right? These Goblins are really really nice, but seem to individual to build up even larger regiments. I bought the STL though, just to be safe if I need some more. The ones shown above are ones cast by Titan Forge.

The pictures with Goblins with explosives! Left are some minis by Artel W (review). I got them in a group order with some people from my local group. I got them mainly because of the Goblin and Squig not because of the big orc. I might be crazy. On the right are my favorite miniatures from the bunch: they are by Grimforge (review). They do some great models and I think I should have all available Goblins by now.

The inanimate Objects. On the left is a barrel. Just a barrel. I don’t know why I bought just a barrel. It’s from Zealot Miniatures (review). The wall well that’s really just a normal wall. Ramshackle Games (review) had it instead of just a lump of leftover resin underneath a wolf rider (Lady Blackberry isn’t really a Goblin but I treat her as one). Nice idea not letting that resin go to waste.

The “we’re not really pirates”. Hey! Roblin the Goblin has a chest. That qualifies as Goblin. I haven’t listed Dungeons and Lasers by Archon Studios. There’s only one Goblin, but it’s only available in a box with a litter of animals, half of which are for Sci-Fi. But hey, now you know he exists. I got mine from eBay. Right is a passed out Braveheart Goblin, but pirates might be passed out as well and you don’t see his face. He’s from Raefen Games (review).

There’s some truly pirate-y ones for last. First off we have a limited model by Fox Box (review), they’ve had limited models for some time and this one was actually not Sci-Fi. And the Gobbos on the right are from GW, were limited as well and also normally belong to 40k.

So that’s my little pirate crew. What do you think? How bad of a job did I do connecting those images? And whoever read this far: have a wonderful day!

6 comments

  1. I got a wonderful day offered out of this 😀

    I like them as a big unit the best (well, I would love big units :P). Painting looks even more improved on those guys too, did you change anything?

    Like

    • Nice, you’ve read it 😀
      I actually have more pirates, but most of them were my first contrast experiments. I guess I have like 50something painted now.
      Yes sir – although it breaks a bit with my painting thus far I simplified the skin. One coat plague bearer flesh (which was to pale even in two coats and I didn’t use it before because of that) and one coat of Green tone by Army painter give a great skin tone for Goblins. Could look neater with an even coat of primer, but I prefer the more grainy transition at an arms reach 😀 Other than that same contrast-fare as always. The whole unit took like 5 hours. I don’t have too much time to spare at the moment so that quick technique suits me at the moment. I’m thinking of doing some pirate Orcs next. But not being able to use them in games at the moment dampens my enthusiasm. And I liked the weird mix of companies, for Orcs it’s just GW parts with ForFun and Spellcrow bits and some Black Scorpion and Spellcrow Orcs…

      Like

Leave a comment