Midlam Miniatures – Review

Here’s a company at which I already ordered a second time, so it’s no secret I like them. I could use some more Nasty Skulkers (or Stinggits or however you like to call your brand of Goblin assassins) and Midlam (initial article here) have broadened their range since the last time I ordered with 3 more assassins, 3 more thugs and a rat catcher. So I ordered exactly all those things. Since there are 4 thugs and assassins available and there’s a set of each I now own two models twice but they’re also very nice models.

They didn’t only send a padded envelope (which would probably work out fine as well) but also a box around it so these miniatures were incredibly safe during transit. Also the package was send crazy fast. I ordered one night before and the order was fulfilled next morning. I checked the order before and they were just as fast.

The minis come in small bags and they also included a comic related to their latest Kickstarter. I don’t know if this was because I ordered Stabrat or just a general thing they do. Was a nice surprise though although it’s basically advertisement. It definitively worked for me (it has two more pages)

As you can see the casting here is really solid. There are really few mold lines and only a bit of excess material on some weapons, which is easily removed. The details are crisp and the design is great. Well and I just couldn’t leave it at that and had to paint the minis I bought as well as some older ones I hadn’t painted yet:

I’ve got almost the whole range now, with just the Great Goblins and knights being the exception. But one of the big ones as champion for my unit is enough for me.

Here you can see their size compared to a GW Spear Chucka crew mate. They compare really well I think , with the GW Goblin having a bigger head (which is not as prevalent in more recent sculpts). The Great Goblin towers at almost double the size of a normal Goblin and could maybe be used as a Troll.

Most individual Goblins are £3, which I deem appropriate for those characterful sculpts. You won’t need a lot of each sculpt anyways. While a regiment of the normal guys might be pretty expensive this way, I think the range really shines in the character section. If you need Goblin assassins or a wizard, getting those £3 is a good deal compared to most other characters and for the Lurkers there was even a pack of 4 saving an additional Pound. The Great Goblins are £6 a piece, which is still ok, but compared to the value of the other Goblins I just can’t justify to myself to get all of them, I just don’t know what to use them as – if you do though, get them! They’re well designed and really big.

Leave a comment